I'm not connecting my APP the internet by choice?
1248 13 2017-9-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Zorus
New
United States

I have a question for the members.

Equipment

I recently (August 2017) purchased the I1 V2
Crystal Sky monitor with the DJI Go APP built in

I had a hell of a time getting it updated with the firmware out of the box, but got past that and have logged about 30 hrs. total and the bird is doing great. Very happy so far with the aircraft overall and I like it better than my P3.

I'm a Part 107 pilot and to date the majority of my work has had NDA's (Non Disclosure Agreements) attached to them. For this reason I keep meticulous paper flight records for myself and insurance company, and always clear out my flight logs on the APP. For this reason I also do not allow my APP / Crystal Sky monitor to connect to the internet (EVER). I have no need to share my information with anyone but my clients.

The question is this. Is this a problem? I have also noticed that although the equipment is new, I have not had any firmware update issues (meaning I have not been prompted to update). Am I flying in a closed system that is not in connection or communication with DJI?

Other than the fact that I keep my information confidential, that first firmware update scared the hell out of me. It took two days and many hours on the live chat with support to get it to accept the update. They wanted me to send it back as they said it was damaged and had a bad RC hard drive. Obviously that was not the case and I was able to get it worked out, but I would rather avoid updates in the future unless they are needed. I have read on other posts "Don't fix what isn't broke" meaning they were saying to avoid updates. Also I read horror stories of people going to jobs and being grounded or limited in flight. Is this because they are connecting to the internet / connecting the app to internet and getting hit with an update request?