Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flying with no wifi/data plan pay as you go sim.
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Callum94
New
United Kingdom

Hello I am completely new to this and have just bought a Phantom 3 standard as my first drone, what I didn't realise is you needed Wi-Fi since I thought the app just connect straight to the drone; I knew you have to have a certain capable phone so I just ordered an iPhone 5s just for this (original phone is an Galaxy mini from 2011).

The problem I have just found out (have not received drone or phone yet) is that you need to have WI-FI to actually fly this (I know about GPS) but I have a pay as you go sim which I do not want to use any data on it since it is like £1 every 10 minutes, so would it be better me buying another sim with a 1gb data plan for around £5 a month or is there a work around since the only thing turned on my phone when in use would be the GPS for the locations? I would like the maps to display on my phone but unfortunately there are no offline maps at the moment for IOS so the only thing I could do (which I read about on here) would be to cache certain areas where I plan to fly, would this be a viable option? Thanks.
2017-10-4
Use props
Labroides
Captain
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Hello I am completely new to this and have just bought a Phantom 3 standard as my first drone, what I didn't realise is you needed Wi-Fi since I thought the app just connect straight to the drone.

You don't need wifi or any data plan to fly your Phantom.
It will do very nicely without either.
The R/C controller connects to your Phantom via radio.
Like many other fliers, I use a wifi only tablet well away from any wifi or internet connection.
I fly a lot and don't miss out on any features.

The Phantom has a perfectly good GPS receiver of its own and this is what it uses for all flight functions.