Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
VPS advice
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
grizzo74
New
United Kingdom

grizzo74
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Hi all,
I am a novice Phantom3 adv pilot and am yet to take my first flight. As I am worried about crashing my nice shiny new drone I have fitted the Hubsan parachute to the rear of the phantom. I have ensured the parachute canister does not sit directly under the vps ultrasonic sensors but am worried the sonics may still bounce off the parachute canister.
There is a clear line of sight directly vertically below all the vps sensors but have read about others having problems of sonics bouncing off gimble guards.
If the ultrasonic sensors detect / bounce off my parachute what effect will it have on the flight?
Will it think it’s at ground level and shoot off upwards?
Will I lose control? Can I turn off the vps?
Thanks for any advice.

2017-11-7
Use props
solentlife
Captain
Flight distance : 1087530 ft
Latvia

Interested in the item.

You say Hubsan ? Which is a 'budget quad' company ....

Is the Parachute system designed for the P3 or have you modified to fit it ?

Photos would be nice to see.

On the subject of VPS .. on the P3 A / P ... the VPS is a vertical unit only unlike the P4 which has forward sensing as well. But already we have had incidents in our club when strobes etc. have been fitted ...

Given that the VPS is a close to ground system .... why not switch it off ? If you are using a Parachute - that will need far more height than the VPS works at to deploy and be useful ... just my thoughts.
Nigel
2017-11-8
Use props
Labroides
Captain
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

I am worried about crashing my nice shiny new drone I have fitted the Hubsan parachute to the rear of the phantom.

The most effective crash prevention is to fly in a large open area well away from obstructions.
Most crashes are due to flying too close to trees and buildings.