Flying with no signal
3672 16 2017-11-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
AmazonMan131517
New

United States

First off, I'm new to the drone world so be gentle!! I am going back to the Amazon jungle in a few months and I was wondering if the DJI Phantom 3 will fly without any kind of signal. There is zero cell service where I'm going. It is a 7 day canoe trip to get to the village I'm visiting. I want to take some aerial pics and vids this time but I need to know if it will work before packing the extra weight. I've heard wifi and gps is needed. Even the satellite phone I have doesn't work there, so.... any advice or suggestions? sidenote: the villagers have never seen anything like this. Seeing themselves in the viewfinder of a basic digital camera blows their minds. They are literally some of the last unreached peoples.

2017-11-13
Use props
WD9EON
Second Officer
Flight distance : 686886 ft
United States

You do not need the internet or cell service to fly the phantom.  You do need to make sure you have signed into your account with DJI before you go and then check to make sure you are not restricted in height or distance before you go.
Remember you will need to charge your batteries and either have a way to download the photos and videos or have a very large SD card (64GB).  
The trip sounds interesting, be sure and post some of your photos when you return.

2017-11-13
Use props
Peterx
First Officer
Flight distance : 1499708 ft
Germany

Once you activated and signed in on DJI with your account you don´t need the internet connection to fly your Phantom. WD9EON is right. The SD card must be a very fast one.
2017-11-13
Use props
Dockater
Second Officer
Flight distance : 139649 ft
Germany