Fail - Phantom 4 Pro + in the ocean - Day one of use
2081 18 2017-11-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
xxcoopxx
New
Australia

Hi all,

Bought a new Phantom 4 Pro + today, and on my second flight, I believe a had a catastrophic battery failure, which resulted in the drone falling into the water near my jetty. Has this happened to anyone else, or is it even capable of occurring given the number of fail safe options that are part of the drone itself. For clarification, I have a Mavic Pro, hence he user platform is near identical, and I am not a novice flyer, this was definately not a user fault issue.

The battery warning came on and literally within 10 seconds, after it automatically enabled its return to home feature, the drone disconnected and fell into the ocean.

Any help with this would be appreciated, have uploaded a video on YouTube hoping for advice on how to proceed, and more importantly, why this occurred.

Thanks in advance

Dave
2017-11-15
Use props
DJI Elektra
DJI team
Hong Kong

Really sorry for your experience. I would recommend you contact our support and start a case: http://www.dji.com/support. Please provide the flight record for further analysis. Thanks for your support.
2017-11-15
Use props
Mark The Droner
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

You could also upload your log to the phantomhelp page and post the link, if you wanted.  The membership could take a look and give opinions.

http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload/

Sorry for your loss
2017-11-15
Use props
xxcoopxx
New
Australia

Thanks for the comments. Given I am new to this particular drone type, I only just found the flight log as you suggested. It shows exactly what I presumed was the case, the battery pretty much "capitulates"..... loses 15% power within a matter of seconds, return to home mode was set at 20% as we have never travelled any more then 1km from where we are flying
2017-11-15
Use props
LarBear360
lvl.4
Flight distance : 63537 ft