Disconnect message using camera and other ??
1340 2 2014-9-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
richardlbye1
lvl.2
Flight distance : 195614 ft
United States

I'm very new to the DJI phantom family. I'm 75, retired handicapped military and don't want to start out by making mistakes. I appologize up front for being slow to learn. I just received my phantom 2+ and going through it's set-up - preflight. In checking my system and reading everything I'm confused when comparing wording in manual vs the Quick Start guide. My questions:  
1.  I'm very concerned.  Today I'm getting a cell phone message overlaid on my camera image telling me I've lost connection to my phantom yet both range WI-Fi extender lights are green (system is blinking) and I can still see a live image and move the camera using the camera controls.  What's wrong?
2.  Are camera movements limited to up & down only with no side to side?
3.  Seems that the camera can only be moved up/down using the buttons in the camera view on my cell phone?
4.  I want to download my bench test images from my camera so I connected the phantom to my pc via cable but my pc doesn't recognize the link.  Do I need to have the dji software program loaded on my pc before it will recognize my linked camera?  

Thanks in advance - God Bless

2014-9-18
Use props
T J Gilbert
lvl.4
Flight distance : 74659 ft
United States

1. The message could be concerning your RC (Tx/Rx) connection that actually controls the P2V+ flight. The two systems, RC and wi-fi, operate independently.
2. Tilt only; no pan. Do pan with your Rudder (if you're worried about losing orientating panning around, learn about IOC).
3. Tilt is presently wifi (cell phone) controlled.