iPad Mini 4 - Cellular Needed or Recommended?
4837 13 2017-12-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
AirPhoto1.com
Second Officer
Flight distance : 455558 ft
United States

When I first started flying my Spark, I read various opinions about the need for the cellular version of the iPad mini 4 - and it made sense to me that the iPad cellular version having on board GPS could provide a safer or better connection while flying.  I've been using it now for 6 months with no problems.

I have a friend that just purchased a new Spark, and is planning to buy an iPad mini 4 - and wants to know if the cellular version has any advantages.  I honestly don't know, based on my own experiences, if the cellular version has actually provided any benefit.

I'm hoping someone here with deeper knowledge can explain why or why not - to purchase the cellular version iPad when flying the Spark.  Will greatly appreciate any input.

2017-12-3
Use props
Nikon 1
lvl.4
United States

Cellular version of the iPad Mini 4 will always have accurate mapping data — WITHOUT A CELLULAR CONNECTION — due to the Cellular iPad having real-time GPS components within the iPad.  

Just to be clear — you do not need to have a cellular SIM in the iPad to get this advantage.
2017-12-3
Use props
AirPhoto1.com
Second Officer
United States

Nikon 1 Posted at 2017-12-3 14:54
Cellular version of the iPad Mini 4 will always have accurate mapping data — WITHOUT A CELLULAR CONNECTION — due to the Cellular iPad having real-time GPS components within the iPad.  

Just to be clear — you do not need to have a cellular SIM in the iPad to get this advantage.

Thanks for the information.  I do NOT have the SIM card in the iPad, and of course don't have a cellular plan activated for it.