1968 23 2017-12-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ole Frederiksen
lvl.2
Flight distance : 724472 ft
Denmark

Hi,

This weekend I was flying my Mavic Pro. Just had it for 10 days or so, so I'm still a newbie!

When trying to learn how to fly the thing in Sports Mode, it suddenly said: Weak GPS - go to ATTI mode. Not being that confident yet, I thought: why not try return to home now? I did and I was happy to see it return back towards me.

When just about 18 meters from me (37 meters up in the air) it suddenly made some strange "jumps" or "hickups" in the air. Then it continued towards me - and lost GPS signal again! And it just started drifted out in the field!

Not really knowing what to do, I decided to see if I could land the drone (after it had drifted 137 meters away from me). And I could. I stopped at the height of two meters and checked if I could manouver it again, which I luckily could! I also got a GPS signal back at that time.

I wonder how it could go from 18 GPS's to weak GSP signal just like that? I was in an open field and everything else seemed to be okay.

I also had more successful flights after this one at the same spot without any problems.

Is that something that just happens now and then? Or is there a problem with the GPS receiver on my Mavic Pro?

I do have the flight records of the flight if that could help anyone helping me here :-)
2017-12-11
Use props
fans672252f4
New

United States

I just had the same problem. I calibrated the imu and compass , went out flew over a field in sports mode and on the way back I hit return to home and it went haywire. I tried to cancel it and it would t let me. I then just pushed down on the stick and it went down in a field .5 miles from me. I thought “OMG! I just lost a 1000.00$!! I luckley found it and I am now afraid to fly it again.
2017-12-11
Use props
DroneFlying
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10774613 ft
United States