LiPo Batteries
2531 4 2017-12-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sunaina
New

India

Hi!

I am studying about lithium polymer batteries.

I have trying to find a concrete answer to my problem mentioned below.

The question is - Which will give a better performance - Using a single large capacity battery (say 11000 mAh) or using multiple small batteries in parallel (say five 2200 mAh) to give equivalent capacity to the large battery? We are drawing equal current in both the cases.

All the information and help would be highly appreciated. It would be great if you could support your points with credible references
2017-12-22
Use props
dan_vector
Second Officer
Flight distance : 613753 ft
United Kingdom

Lipo batteries are split into cells (even if the pack is one big pack) of 3.7v nominal (4.2 - 4.3v fully charged) therefore a mavic pack for example is 3s (3x3.7v nominal). So to be honest it really depends on the total voltage you need to supply, what the continuous and peak current draw will be followed by the required duration at that continuous current. Then you can calculate how many cells you need as well as the capacity. However that all said and done 2 of one type of battery wired in parallel will always be able to provide more current than the same type of battery by itself. But you need to consider other things before coming to a firm conclusion over what your particular requirement is.
2017-12-24
Use props
Sunaina
New

India

Hey Dan!
Thanks for your reply.

Let me make my question a little more easy (I hope!).
Which will provide more nominal energy - single 11000 mAh battery or 5 2200 mAh battery connected in parallel?
Currently, voltage is not a concern. If you can explain in terms of nominal energy, energy density, power density etc., it would be great.
2017-12-26
Use props
mz-in-norcal
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1005049 ft
United States