VIRUS alert! dji what are u doing?
2305 20 2018-1-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fanscfa7e77e
lvl.1
United States

look, many people enjoy the fun of flying. i'm one of them but not at the risk of personal security. dji has embedded virus packaged with their latest app, DJI Assistant 2, v1.2  it was released on 12/29. i've attached the failure discovered by symantec ep.

as a former sw developer, i can tell u this is deliberate! they've had a number of these issues in previous versions, so it's by design. flyers be AWARE!

i use an air gapped laptop for this dji app and others that i deem to be risky. after an install, i re-image and start fresh. for those who don't get it and from reading these posts, it will likely be many, just ignore this post and keep playing. for the others with some smarts and a discipline above that of a 12 yo, be very aware. in my case the virus was detected and quaranteened. what about the malware that hasn't be detected? again, this is not a fluke on dji's part - this is deliberate.

dji - get your act together!

dji virus.jpg
2018-1-18
Use props
Planodave
lvl.1
United States

Thanks for the alert.  No need to thow the insults out about one's knowledge of software an threats.   Just post your concerns, way more valuable.
2018-1-18
Use props
Tviscomi
lvl.4
Flight distance : 106886 ft
  • >>>
United States

Just out of curiosity is the the file that was detected visionstarter.exe?  If so, it is fine.
2018-1-18
Use props
hiFlyinNC
lvl.1
United States

Tviscomi Posted at 2018-1-18 09:09
Just out of curiosity is the the file that was detected visionstarter.exe?  If so, it is fine.

yes, it is "visionstarter.exe" that should've shown through but i messed up when doing the capture. i realize it's a relatively "lo risk" according to symantec. what are your thoughts on this behavior?
2018-1-18
Use props
hiFlyinNC
lvl.1
United States