Horizontal panorama vertical angle
1647 8 2018-1-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JensIR
lvl.3
Flight distance : 207631 ft
  • >>>

I am still pretty new to this so I haven't had the time to test extensively the panorama modes of the Mavic.
My question is as follows: If I create a panorama by using the "Horizontal" option (the 9 photos in a rectangle formation), is the intial angle of the camera taken into account? In other words: If I point my camera at around 45 degrees down from horizontal before pressing the button, will I get a different parnorama than if I point it straight forward (horizontally). It did not occur to me to test this the last time I used the Mavic, but in one of the few "horizontal" panoramas I created it looked like the camera started out horizontaly even if I had the camera angled slightly down when pressing the shutter button, but I might possibly be mistaken.
The written guide from DJI does not give any conclusive answer as it says "During the shooting process, the aircraft will use the current location as the initial position and auto pan", but it does not mention the vertical camera angle.
2018-1-23
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13838848 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

That’s right - it will take a still from the original angle then work around from that point.
2018-1-23
Use props
JensIR
lvl.3
  • >>>

A CW Posted at 2018-1-23 01:43
That’s right - it will take a still from the original angle then work around from that point.

OK, thanks, that sounds good. I will have to experiemnt some more with this to get familiar with the settings and operation of the camera.
Do you know what happens if you point the camera straight down before shooting the horizontal panorama?
2018-1-23
Use props
A CW
Captain
  • >>>
United Kingdom

JensIR Posted at 2018-1-23 02:16
OK, thanks, that sounds good. I will have to experiemnt some more with this to get familiar with the settings and operation of the camera.