1262 10 2018-1-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Mark Blaide
lvl.4
Flight distance : 246014 ft
United States

Hi guys,

I see a lot of people asking about upgrading from the Spark and should they go MPP or MA. I was in the same situation and here's how I decided. My background is flying nitro helis. If you've never flown an old school nitro heli with a piezo gyro on the tail...well, ATTI mode on a DJI drone is waaay easier to fly! Anyway, heli flying was always done within line of sight, so thats how I fly. So for me the Enhanced WiFi of the MA seemed perfectly fine, since I was always fine with it on the Spark. Next, I love taking aerial videos. The Spark videos were great, but getting 4k seemed awesome, so I knew an upgrade was in the future. The MA gimbal seems more protected and robust than the MPP gimbal, and the fact that the MA uses screw-on lens covers/filters is the right way to do it! Putting sensors on the back was also great for safely taking video while flying away from your subject. Its easy to be distracted with keeping your subject in the frame and forget about the trees you may be backing up into! For battery life, I've heard people getting 18-20 minutes on the MA, which is great when coming from the Spark. I ordered the Fly-More combo and I'll get a 4th battery when available, so with this I'm set for an afternoon of flying. The size and portibility is really great, so for me the decision to get the MA wasn't that hard. And getting the MA Fly-More combo vs the MPP Fly-More combo saved me $440 - so now a CrystalSky 5.5" display may be in the future!

If I already had the MPP then I might be a little jealous of the features of the MA, but I realize that only the Mavic Pro 2 can truely replace the Mavic Pro...but that was released when I was looking to buy a new drone.   
2018-1-28
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Good decision, next will be Mavic Pro 2.
2018-1-28
Use props
Wachtberger
Captain