n3 + s900 + e1200 uncontrollable bouncing on take off, crash
1459 3 2018-2-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
sftmthd
lvl.2
United States

i made the first test flight of a new setup today. previously i was running s900+e1200+wkm. flew fairly smoothly, some vibrations and gps not rock solid but very predictable and controllable. i wasn't happy with the FPV setup, so i upgraded to n3 + lb2 and pretty much set it all up from scratch. motor tests look good, control sticks show full range, center of gravity is dead center front/back and left/right, about 115mm “down” from the N3, which is mounted dead center, on the lower deck. GNSS stalk also mounted dead center on the top deck.

this AM i took it out, fully charged pack, calibrated compass, but with the gimbal (gremsy t3) and camera (nikon d850 + 20mm f/1.8) removed.

it seems like GO 4 wants you to take off in GPS mode, which i have never done before, but i did. motors start in sequence, spin smoothly. i give it a little throttle and it lifts and then immediately bounces back down, hard enough to literally bounce off the ground. it goes up, bounces down. i tried full down throttle to “land” but it just keeps bouncing up. it hopped about 15 feet as i’m trying to kill it and then i just shut down the radio, which shut it off.

so, i’ve obviously made a n00b mistake. i really doubt it’s ground effect with an aircraft this large, and i never experienced that before with the s900. i could reliably fly around a foot if not inches from level ground on ATTI. should i have not taken off in GPS? could the gains be so far out that in GPS it couldn’t maintain altitude and was going down and up, but right at ground level, thus impacting? i couldn’t find any reference to recommended gains with this setup, so i started low, about 2/3 default values for the basic gains.