Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flying from a boat
1374 13 2018-2-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Salmonslayer
Second Officer
Flight distance : 100220 ft
Canada

I have spacifically purchased my P3S to fly film my fishing adventures from my 21 ft boat. So here is the scenario
When we hook into the fish I want to hand release the P3S ( which I have lots of land experience doing), then film the catch. The boat will be moving all over as we will not be anchored and at times chasing the fish.
Now the issue is this, what is the best way to control a loss off connection causing a RTH.
I was thinking, first set the RTH altitude to 40 ft and the RTH action to Hover. This would enable me to get the boat under the P3S, giving me time to reconnect if possible if not upon a force landing I could attempt to capture the drone with a large net or hand if lucky.
What do u think (please be constructive with your responses, again the sole purpose of this drone for me is to film fishing adventures on the open ocean) thanks!
2018-2-6
Use props
Labroides
Captain
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

You will be quite close to the boat.  Do you experience loss of signal at close range?
2018-2-7
Use props
Jeff Millard
First Officer
Flight distance : 503635 ft
  • >>>
United States

Being quite serious. There are third party floatation devices made for drones. They’re clunky, and don’t look like they’d save a tissue. But if I was solely filming over water, I’d look into one. Another thing, they make tracking devices for animals that has been converted for use on drones. See here.

Jeff
2018-2-7
Use props
Hellsgate
Captain
Flight distance : 1991555 ft
Australia

Set loss of conection to hover instead of rth.
You could also decrease the altitude so that it hovers at an altitude you can reach if need be from the highest part of the boat even if that means using a net to catch it.
2018-2-7
Use props
A CW
Captain