2005 22 2018-2-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_DD4Bvy8Y4hvu
lvl.1
Flight distance : 15764 ft
United Kingdom

Hi,

I am very new to drones and have only had my Mavic Air for 1 week now. I'm not sure if this is just a misunderstanding of the messages or incorrect settings.

When Jim (my drone) detects it has only enough battery it auto initiates RTH, good, well we all know that. But twice now (both under very undesirable scenarios) the following has happened:
  • Batter drops past threshold bsaed on distance to home location
  • RTH is automatically initiated
  • Not very long, possibly just seconds, after it starts to head home, the messages displays "Landing" rather than "Returning to home"

This was very worrying as once I was "lost" in my neighbourhood and the second time I was out at sea. Both times I managed to take control (the first was even more sketchy as I had first lost signal) but both times, I took control and navigated the drone home, rather than relying on the RTH to bring it back sucesfully.

Is this right?
Does it mean it is Landing.. "where it is" rather than returning to home first?
If I didn't take control, would it just set down there
Or, am I just misunderstanding the meaning when it says Landing.. I haven't waited to find out because of the location, but I'm hoping it will happen while I am in an open field so I can see if it just lands in situ or comes back first. In the meantime I will of course ask you lovely people

Thanks
2018-2-12
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Two things, if your drone is within 20 metres of home it will just land, if you want to change this you have to enable in your app.
Second if you are using app to RTH you may be just sliding the land command.
2018-2-12
Use props
Buzzyone
Second Officer
Flight distance : 4647913 ft
  • >>>
France