The Future of Flying a sUAS in the US- Rules Paralysis
1116 12 2018-2-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BearDrone
lvl.3
Flight distance : 2887251 ft
United States

This is somewhat a rant, and somewhat of a call for opinions on what other pilots are doing. A little background first.

I've been using a P4 Standard for just about a year now. I have 40 hours of flight time and around 120 flights. I was given my P4 as a gift, and I probably never would have purchased one on my own. I have been a serious photography hobbyist my entire life, but have very little videography exposure. I am so glad that I was given this drone. I love flying, and I am learning more and more about videography as things go along. I have much to learn, but I am glad I have entered this recreational drone space.

Like the vast majority of pilots, I want to abide by the rules and regulations and continue to give the recreational drone community a positive image. I think we all have that responsibility. In my quest to adhere to all rules, I have been using Google maps and adhereing to FAA guidelines. I live in a community with a huge military presence with multiple master jet bases, helo pads, and various other restricted areas. Those are no-brainers, and I strictly adhere to all those regulations.

I thought it was time to download an app to help me understand the different airspace categories that are around me because I want to get out and explore more. I live in a coastal area with many barrier islands and beaches, waterways and estuaries, and the Atlantic and Chesapeake Bay in my back yard. I downloaded AirMap after going to their website and seeing what they have to offer. It seems that B4UFly via the FAA is the most inaccurate and hated app out there for this purpose. Go figure, a government product that's not good!? Hard to believe.