Return to Home Feature and Can I Turn it Off?
3722 8 2018-2-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
darkuser999
lvl.2
Flight distance : 51890 ft
United Kingdom

So I'm a complete drone newbie and was flying my spark for the first few times. Everything went fine, but when the Return to Home activated the Spark suddenly gained altitude. Does anyone know why this happened. Is it part of the return to home protocal. Also, i'm generally a quite responsible flier and confident i can fly the Spark home in h 20% battery. Would it be advisable to turn the Return to Home funcation off? Thanks.
2018-2-15
Use props
LouisP
lvl.4
Flight distance : 41952 ft
United States

You can set Return to Home at Current Altitude to on.. But do you really want to?  The idea is to set RTH higher than anything around where you are flying so that it won't run into anything on the way home.  Also, you should only really use it as a last resort and know  how it works in various scenarios.  You obviously have not read the manual so I would advise you to not use RTH at all.
2018-2-15
Use props
Grmachine
lvl.4
United States

There are several tutorial videos within this app at the Academy, it's a really good idea to view them all, the manual is also located there in digital format.
Another source for informative video is YouTube, a few of our members have some really good videos for beginners.
2018-2-15
Use props
Rustic17
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2733760 ft
United States

I highly recommend you read the manual. RTH is described there very well. Not only are you flying an expensive piece to technology, you are also flying something that can be potentially dangerous to others or property nearby.  Read the manual to know the capabilities of your drone.
2018-2-15
Use props
drewhoover
lvl.4
Flight distance : 323455 ft
United States