What is a good estimate range of the spark with the controller
6986 16 2018-2-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_TomhVp0L0dCm
lvl.1
United States

I think DJI says it is is 1.2 miles but I keep reading about people flying it 2 + miles.  

Im new to drones.  Im getting some video tomorrow  that I have to fly above the trees.  Here in  texas where I live the trees are 110-130ft high and the forest is thick.  I was going to get a shot flying above the trees looking down.  At that point I will not be able to see my drone anymore.  Im a little worried that even with the map  i might lose my bearings.  I havent use the "return to home " feature yet.  I do have it set to 50 meters.  Anyone take shots like that where you cant see it?  I have flown it a few times in my yard and today really flew it for the first time.  Am I jumping the gun on get pictures where I loose site of the spark?  Should I wait for more flight time?

This is the video I made today.  My first real flight.  
2018-2-17
Use props
Grmachine
lvl.4
United States

First off it is against regulations to fly without VLOS.
Beyond that 2000 meters is the manufacturer range 1.2 miles. Good luck, but I would recommend some FRS radios and a friend, to at least attempt maintaining VLOS.
2018-2-17
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5922034 ft
  • >>>
Thailand

Don't worry about this
"I havent use the "return to home " feature yet."  
The drone will do, as soon your RC is out "of reach"
2018-2-17
Use props
Strobing_NYC
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3866470 ft
United States

I know some people that take there Spark out of VLOS for long flights. Yes it's not recommend but it's done, the max distance I have personally seen is 1.2 miles before the AC lost connection. This was over a highly dence area with a ton of wifi so I'm sure you can pull a little more distance over water or in the country with less interference.
2018-2-18
Use props
Gunship9
Second Officer
United States