Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Mavic Pro dropped from the sky into a lake
1211 9 2018-2-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Mesut Kaya
lvl.1
Flight distance : 44301 ft
Mexico

Hi guys/gals,

last weekend I visited Aculco de Espinosa, Mexiko. There is a beautiful little waterfall near the town (Cascada de La Concepcion), which seemed perfect for some drone shots. I am a super careful pilot, who does all the software and hardware checks before taking off, flies only with full batteries and doesn't try risky moves. The weather was great and the place was not crowded. Unfortunatley my flight only lasted 2 minutes and 19 seconds. For whatever reason my drone just dropped from the sky.

It fell into the middle of the waterfall's lake. I jumped in, tried to dive for it or grab it with my feet, but the lake is way too deep, dark and cold.
Had to leave Aculco without my drone

Back home, I checked  the app for photos/videos: nothing  (full video cache)
I checked the flight log: no errors. The recording suddenly just ends. (http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/4EIQ18QBZQCFZXB2LNZU/)

Bought the drone last summer, so I contacted the technical support. Very nice and fast exchange, but the evidence I could provide was not enough to get a full refund. Got offered a 30% discount on my next purchase.

I'm clueless. What happened? Was it my fault? Should I buy a new Mavic Pro, or jump ship and buy a Mavic Air?

greetings from Mexico

the waterfall

the waterfall

the last moment

the last moment
2018-2-22
Use props
Woe
Captain
Flight distance : 4129268 ft
  • >>>
United States

Beautiful shot. Sorry for your loss.
2018-2-22
Use props
ghostrdr
First Officer
Flight distance : 1272723 ft
United States

What a great location! I can see why you took the risk.
2018-2-22
Use props
fansf77370fb
First Officer
Flight distance : 1008924 ft
United States