Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Losing site of your drone - do goggles help you fly further?
928 9 2018-3-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Danger Lampost
Second Officer

United States

I have only 4-5 hours of flight time under my belt now so I am a rank beginner, and have flown enough now that I panicked once or twice when I lost site of my drone (I know, that's a no-no). I tried to figure out where I was by looking at my mobile screen, but I couldn't initially figure out exactly where I was or how to fly back. I saw the horizontal distance indicator and a few other things that helped, as well as the map. I eventually used these clues to figure things out in the end without hitting the panick button RTH, but this leaves me wondering about whether the goggles help flying at greater distances where you can't see your drone.

So... Would using goggles help me fly further distances without losing track of where I am?

Also, I have this issue where I tend to get left/right backwards when I'm flying towards myself. I'm getting better with practice, but does this issue go away with goggles?
2018-3-10
Use props
FlyDK
Captain
Flight distance : 1636286 ft
Denmark

I've always wondered what people want with goggles. With them mounted over the eyes, I imagine losing one's VLOS. I can be wrong. I have not seen a couple in reality, but I guess that the visual of the monitor mounted in conjunction with the RC simply moves up in front of the eyes, making it easier to see the details.
2018-3-10
Use props
Danger Lampost
Second Officer

United States

FlyDK Posted at 2018-3-10 16:12
I've always wondered what people want with goggles. With them mounted over the eyes, I imagine losing one's VLOS. I can be wrong. I have not seen a couple in reality, but I guess that the visual of the monitor mounted in conjunction with the RC simply moves up in front of the eyes, making it easier to see the details.