Are there many illegal drone flights?
1032 10 2018-3-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Danger Lampost
lvl.4

United States

I'm still a newbie so forgive me if this question seems naive, but it seems to me that there are many, many videos on Youtube that appear to show illegal drone flights - especially flying over people, cars, and houses. Not to mention flying with goggles without a spotter, and over the maximum altitude allowed. Just search youtube for "Drone vs. ..." and you'll see what I mean. I've met a local FPV drone racer and watched him fly with goggles over people, and watched his many videos which show things like flying in major U.S. cities over busy city streets.
Am I missing something? Or do many people fly drones illegally, and even post them on Youtube or elsewhere? If so, does this risk ruining drones for the rest of us that do our best to follow the laws?

2018-3-13
Use props
Acenspades
lvl.3
United States

Short answer is yes/no.  On youtube look up flights over Los Angeles.  There are people flying drones at Santa Monica Pier (a no fly zone), Downtown (i don't know zone), Beverly Hills, Hollywood blvd, Griffith Park (a no fly zone).  Do they have permits? Don't know.  But i think this does risk ruining drones for the rest of us that do try our best to follow the laws.  If it were my policy I'd make it so that you'd have to have a training, license, and insurance but you can fly anywhere.
2018-3-13
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

I think (here in NL at least) there is a lot of 'almost legal' flying.
Or 'responsible flying' as some want to call it.
So not like over people, or buildings etc. but too close if you live by the law.
Maybe not intentional, since most don't know everything they need to know.
2018-3-13
Use props
Lamplighter55
Second Officer
Flight distance : 538596 ft
United Kingdom