Flight Plan - Autonomous GPS guided Flights with Mavic Air
13147 14 2018-3-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DiegoMayra
lvl.1
United States

Hello All,

Can we fly the Mavic Air with a preprogrammned flight plan?

I am new to drones. Prior to purchasing the DJI Mavic Air in February I purchased my first drone off of Slickdeals.net deal for $240, the Bebop 2 with Skycontroller. Parrot, who makes the Bebop 2, had a flight plan app, which had an in-app purchase for $20 and it allowed to make autonomous flights, changing the gimbal positions, setting point of interest, spin, rotate at a specific speed. It was nice because I could premake the flight and show up and let it run.

I was missing this feature on a recent trip to Mexico, where I realized I was constantly on the drone. I would have enjoyed setting up flights in advance an instead of actively being on the sticks I could be having a coffee or a beer whilest watching the drone (line of sight of course) for safety.

Are there reccomendations for Apps doing what I described?

2018-3-23
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Not yet, other app suppliers like Litchi awaiting dji to release SDK to get working on developing new programs.
2018-3-23
Use props
cspain
Second Officer
Flight distance : 662644 ft
United States

So, with the DJI models that do support autonomous waypoint missions, do you still need to be in contact with the controller during the mission, or can you go out of range?
2018-3-23
Use props
Punchbuggy
First Officer
Flight distance : 483166 ft
  • >>>
United States

cspain Posted at 2018-3-23 15:04
So, with the DJI models that do support autonomous waypoint missions, do you still need to be in contact with the controller during the mission, or can you go out of range?