1st Impressions
851 15 2018-3-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Coxy
lvl.2
United Kingdom

I’m a total newbie/novice
1. Right hand joystick on RC seems to do its own thing? I thought this P3A had automatic headless mode?
2. My RC came with a lanyard, but it’s a joke, the weight of the phone just keeps tilting it forwards?
3. The compass calibration only seems to work in the horizontal plane and if boredom hadn’t set in, I’d still be turning it in the vertical plane now.
4. Warnings now to update everything except the RC?

Is this all normal? Would really appreciate some help/feedback

Thanks, Coxy
2018-3-24
Use props
Pilot H
lvl.3
Flight distance : 209764 ft
United States

Well, I'm on a Phantom 3 Standard here. So, I'll think of what answers I can, For the joystick solution, read the manual (if you already haven't) a few times. That should answer any common questions with what the sticks do, The phone will often tilt them forward, the lanyard is often more than not just there to keep it suspended so you can take your hands off the controller and not have to set it down somewhere. Compass calibration, I'm not entirely sure about, I'll do some reading into it. Yeah, typically when they're new they need some firmware updates. Everything (except for the compass which I have no idea of yet) is normal.
2018-3-24
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Welcome to the forum and DJI family. Hahaha

Time for you to RTFM, and get onboard... ;-)

Enjoy your drone, and time well spent while in the forum.

RedHotPoker
2018-3-24
Use props
DEUCEDOG
First Officer
Flight distance : 2501575 ft

Welcome Is your P3A new ?
2018-3-24
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Suggest: Do a cold drone, IMU calibration, then the gimbal calibration.

Always calibrate the compass outside, in a clearing, away from any electrical or ferrous metal.

Thanks for participating on the forum. ;-)

RedHotPoker
2018-3-24
Use props
Coxy