After firmware update, can't fly without GO???
1881 11 2018-3-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
b barris
lvl.2
United States

Hi all, I have a Phantom 3 Pro I've been flying for a few years.  A couple of weeks ago during a flight the controller started beeping ~30s into a flight and the drone did a forced landing.  It did this while out in the field, and then again at my house.  I figured it was probably a sign I needed to upgrade firmware, since I haven't done so in a while (because the updates are of course notoriously unreliable).  So I upgraded firmware on both the controller and the drone, and that problem seemed to go away.  However, the drone appeared to be in beginner mode, since it wouldn't go above what appeared to be about 50 feet or so.  I don't use the GO app for flying, but our own app we developed for live streaming (I won't mention it right now, since this isn't an ad but a legit cry for help).  So I installed GO, and it wasn't in beginner mode, but did have a very low maximum height set for some reason.  I changed that, and it worked fine.  But then when I uninstalled GO, the same problem happened!  With GO, it will fly as normal, without it will not.  I am in a pretty rural area, there are no flight restrictions, so there is no reason the drone should behave like this.  Basically this update has effectively bricked my drone, unless I use GO, which basically destroys our abiliity to use our own app.

So, my question, to the forum and to DJI, is whether I am missing something and there is some way to get back to the situation I used to have, where I can fly my drone without the GO app.  I know in the past it has been difficult to impossible to revert firmware versions, but is that something I could do?  Have they changed the way the system operates so that the drone expects a no-fly map to be active on the phone, or else it won't fly?  Is there some way around that?  Help!
2018-3-25
Use props
Phantom Help
Captain