Size of Firmware updates and mobile network
1820 28 2018-3-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Serra Nova
lvl.1

Greenland

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to the drone world. I never owned one before but have decided to buy a Mavic Pro Drone. I live in Greenland and nature here is astonishing. I would like to do some aerial photography here.

Internet is extremely expensive in Greenland. I have only a mobile 4G internet subscription with 5GB data per month.

Is it then still possible for me to buy and own a drone? Or are the firmware updates so large that 5GB data won't cut it?

Have a great day.
2018-3-28
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13838848 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Best to use a solid WiFi connection if you can - 5GB will be enough but you may find limited data remaining
2018-3-28
Use props
Wachtberger
First Officer
Flight distance : 261509 ft
Germany

I am sure you have also internet access with computers. You can do the updates with DJI Assistant then.
2018-3-28
Use props
Serra Nova
lvl.1

Greenland

Wachtberger Posted at 2018-3-28 03:40
I am sure you have also internet access with computers. You can do the updates with DJI Assistant then.

I have at my office but most websites are blocked and one cannot download files.
2018-3-28
Use props
Wachtberger
First Officer
Germany

Serra Nova Posted at 2018-3-28 04:31
I have at my office but most websites are blocked and one cannot download files.

That's bad indeed. Internet Café maybe?
2018-3-28
Use props
A CW
Captain
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Wachtberger Posted at 2018-3-28 06:54

I thought that but it seems to have the internet in Greenland is a luxury for some reason.
2018-3-28
Use props
HedgeTrimmer
Second Officer
United States

5GB per month is not very much, between normal usage, and updates to Cellphone's OS and Apps.
Any idea how many GBs per month you now use?