Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Osmo "Pro" FAIL
1666 14 2018-4-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
chris.chrisodomphoto
lvl.1
Flight distance : 3302110 ft
  • >>>

First, I want to start by saying that I think DJI makes awesome products from a technology standpoint. However, being a pro, I have to trust my gear and know that it is built for everyday use in a production environment. DJI gear, especially the Osmo &quotro" is not.

With that being said, let my rant begin:

I was recently booked for an international assignment which involved travel by air, land and sea. For this assignment, I knew that the Osmo Pro with the X5 was the best choice for this gig given all the shooting environments and timelines.

Upon arriving at my location, I opened my Osmo case and started to prep my gear to start filming the following day. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that the mount on the Osmo handle literally broke off in my hand as I was mounting the X5 adaptor! The shocking part was that I hand carried this case with me, knowing that this piece of equipment was delicate to begin with. Let me also say that the case was treated with care and was at no point out of my sight.

After realizing what was going on, I began to investigate and work on a plan to resolve the issue.

It is indeed very surprising that DJI would make something that is supposedly designed for a pro so delicate. In the attached photos, notice how the mount on the handle is secured: by 4 extremely TINY screws, into fragile plastic. Why would something that is to serve as the base for everything be secured with such little care and quality. Notice how short the screws are!!! Also, notice that the plastic that the screws go in to just, for lack of a better word, disintegrated. See how the plastic is still on the screws!!!