What are your thoughts about flying near hawks?
2699 21 2018-4-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Danger Lampost
lvl.4

United States

My Mavic Air recently got attacked by a pair of large redtail hawks and I managed to escape to safety (which I caught mostly on video, cool), which lead me to think much more about flying near hawks. I saw on youtube lots of videos of hawks and especially eagles taking out drones, and was wondering if anyone here has run into issues with hawks (or other birds) attacking your drone? Any advice for a relative newbie here on this topic?
2018-4-10
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 14237874 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Bottom line - steer clear of them if you can - especially sea gulls near coast lines. I am (touch wood) yet to experience a bird strike on my drones but they seemed to come in a lot closer on the smaller drones like my Spark when I had it and stay well away from the MP and P4P - though I have seen videos of Inspire's being taken down by eagles...  
The best thing to do is not fly near nesting grounds, rise above them fast and fly away from their direction in sport mode. Small birds will fly away from the drone anyway but eagles and larger birds are territorial and may perceive your drone as a threat.
2018-4-10
Use props
slimharry
lvl.4
Flight distance : 720446 ft
Canada

no idea, but i was scared from pigeons. There were so many of them in the park, after hesitating for an hour, i never flew! I don't know the real danger of pigeons tho..they could be harmless to drones but since it was my first time taking the mavic pro out, i played it safe.
2018-4-10
Use props
Marian
lvl.4
Flight distance : 340597 ft

As soon as I see Hawks or Eagles coming close I turn my drone around for the drone and the bird's sake.
2018-4-10
Use props
FredAstra
Second Officer
Flight distance : 595577 ft
United Kingdom

Ok i'll bite let see the video  :-)
2018-4-10
Use props
Danger Lampost
lvl.4

United States