Crashed my first drone very badly.
1132 19 2018-4-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_zZhmU2sNWxIE
lvl.3
Flight distance : 28058 ft
Greece

Hello guys, after i bought my first ever drone for some weekend fun, unfortunately i crashed it and I want to share how i did it. Fortunately while waiting for the battery to charge i was looking at the papers it come with, and noticed the DJI CARE REFRESH ! which i bought thinking I am a newbie.. back to the story!

The weird thing is how it happened...
I got on my roof top and pressed take off ! I was excited , but apparently the drone was excited as well and it started drifting.
Then I landed it, move to a different location take off, still drifting...
Landed it again , moved to a different spot but then it drifted too much ! I pressed land but it was descending slowly and went off the edge of the roof top !!
I then panicked pressed return home and the drone turned back but without adjusting it's altitude!! As you can imagine it crashed on the side of the building.
The results?
The "motor holder" plastic part was completely severed from the arm... cables included.. 4hrs after purchase...
Now, I do have some questions. After inspection the motor accross the severed one makes a scratchy noise. Is it possible I had a DOA and hence the drifting? Why the obstacle detection didn't stopped it from crashing? My max speed was 7m/s and the drone attempted "return home" at literally -3m !(according to flight history) begginer mode was on as well.

My most interesting question, do I have to send it to NL or can my local dji certified shop replace it?? I really wanted to use it this Sunday...
2018-4-12
Use props
COPILOT VATER
lvl.3
Flight distance : 30046 ft

Did you calibrate you Gps before taking off and your IMU sound like you did not set your calibration that's why it's was drifting
2018-4-12
Use props
COPILOT VATER
lvl.3

Don't never takeoff from a roof
2018-4-12
Use props
COPILOT VATER
lvl.3