Lost Spark today...need replacement
2655 32 2018-4-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mountainpics11
lvl.2
Flight distance : 59337 ft
United States

Hello, I am a pro photographer with a well-reviewed travel book. I was flying today in Montana, shooting winter scenes for the promo video for my new book (I live in New Orleans and went to great expense to get to this location to shoot)  I had flown successfully about 10 minutes before and drove to a new spot. Everything went as normal...I had GPS, and ascended up to about 350 feet. I flew out over trees, and shot video, then turned the Spark around and had it fly back to me. Somewhere along the way, it lost GPS, switched to atti mode, then I started getting error messages:  “working IMU encounters heading exception” and “warning:  compass error, exit P-GPS mode”. The Spark then started to fly forward on its own. The last images I saw on my screen was of the Spark approaching a tree, then I lost the connection and it was never seen again. Incredibly frustrating , mostly because I lost all of the footage I had shot, and now will have to schedule another full trip back to shoot these images with a new drone. Also frustrating that I spent the extra $69 to have the DJI Refresh insurance, but can’t use it since the drone is lost.  This REALLY seems like a malfunctioning drone, and I would like a replacement. Is there anything I can do to get this taken care of?
61CDF9C3-B1EA-4D6F-A371-021166729124.png
F35419B7-ECA5-4A76-9933-66EA0E0E1768.png
D5FC2EB3-89D7-4AE3-A1B1-C18F9BFC50B5.png
463031DB-A454-40FD-BD28-EDD4D24DA261.png
2018-4-13
Use props
msinger
Captain
Flight distance : 228255 ft
  • >>>
United States

The "working IMU encounters heading exception" message is something commonly seen when the compass is being negatively affected by a nearby magnetic metallic object. Where did you power on the Spark and take off from? Were there any metal objects near it?