Winter Landscapes
1341 16 2018-4-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JensIR
lvl.3
Flight distance : 207631 ft
  • >>>

I have finally found some time and courage to  compile a video from some of the footage I have shot since I got my  Mavic Pro in December.
This is my first attempt at anyting like  this so please bear with me if not everything is up to standards. I consider myself a quite proficient still photographer, but this  video thing is completely new to me. So far I have found that shooting  and editing something that is actually worth looking at has been very  challenging and I still have a lot to learn. I also have several decades  of experience flying Radio Controlled airplanes, but flying the drone  in a way that produces useable footage takes some new skills.

(Edit: Finally after several hours the video also shows the 1080p resolution option in Youtube.)

The  footage included in this video was shot at different times, ranging  from December and until just recently. A few of the clips included are  only two days old. As you can see, even if spring is approaching rapidly  here, in the mountains of Norways west coast it is still sort of  winter, and lots of snow even if temperatures are now more in the  pleasant range. In fact this period is prime backcountry skiing season  in these areas.
All footage was shot in the fjord districts on the west coast of Norway, in the area known as Sunnmøre.

I  have not been able to use the Mavic as much as I wanted since winter  conditions have been challenging in periods. Both low temperatures, wind  and snow as well as short daylight hours in mid winter have put  limitations on when I have been able to fly. In the areas where this was  shot we do not have really extreme winter temperatures, but the cold can  still be challenging for fingers and batteries, and measures had to be  taken to protect them from the worst cold.