No Fly Zone Issue
1292 3 2018-4-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ProvostDrone
lvl.2
Flight distance : 937267 ft
United States

My first issue with the no fly zones in the DJI app.  
I am a licensed 107 pilot.
I retired from Clinton Correctional Facility as an Officer, so I completely understand the security concerns of Drone use around Correctional Facilities, more so than maybe anyone on this forum.  I get it!  
I contacted NYS Dept of Corrections to inform them of my pending flight arund the jail.
I received permission
There is no state law forbidding Drone flights over state Jails or around them.  There are no laws on the books, anywhere.
I was hired by a movie producer to shoot some aerial video.
I just attempted to shoot a particular shot, and could not because the DJI app locked the drone on the ground. Additionally, I had no intent on flying directly over the Facility, just up to it, across the street, still airspace over private property.  Though if I had asked for it, I suspect I would have been given permission to fly over as well.
So, I completely understand the security concerns, but I also feel as though, if there are no laws that deny me the right to fly over the jail, then how does a private company restrict me from doing it, and furthermore, DJI wont even let me fly within 2 streets from the Jail.
Yuneec does not have these restrictions.  Licensed Pilots should not have these restrictions placed upon us.  If i violate the law, then I can lose my license.  I dont need DJI restricting me as well.  This is also an issue here in Plattsburgh NY.  There is no controlled airspace whatsoever, but I need to unlock my app every time I am within a few miles of the airport.  
Keith Provost
Provost Drone Solutions

https://drive.google.com/open?id ... eUQrpNhPL3Jx9m8XjJl
2018-4-20
Use props
dmz0311-68
lvl.1

United States

Welcome to DJI
2018-8-29
Use props
eggbeater
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3502972 ft
  • >>>
United States