Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
My first flight over water was exciting...
755 12 2018-4-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
gcomfx
lvl.2
Flight distance : 119613 ft
United States

For some reason it has taken me weeks to get access to post here.  Hopefully this test post works this time.

Hi, I'm Paul...

I'm new to droning.  Started with a Spark and switched to a Mavic Air.  Still timid with most flights as I keep getting weak signal warnings, even though I can still see the drone.  I'm using an iPhone 8+ in airplane mode 95% of the time, but I now have an older iPad Air that I used successfully today.

I wanted to share my first time flying over water.  I made a rookie mistake and focused on the screen way too long trying to get a nice swooping motion down towards the water.  It appeared on my phone I was MUCH higher up than I was as there was a lag in the video.  I wish the sensors had kicked in a bit sooner to alert me of the pending doom.  Enjoy the short little video, I would love some feedback:
2018-4-24
Use props
gcomfx
lvl.2
United States

Woohoo!!!!  I was actually able to post...
2018-4-24
Use props
AG0N-Gary
Second Officer
Flight distance : 700846 ft

Can't tell you why the sensors didn't work, however, you were flying fast over water and possibly didn't have enough detail/contrast to be detected.  Remember also that you're using a WIDE ANGLE LENS and ALL objects are a lot closer than they look, especially the close-in ones.
2018-4-24
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13838848 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Always a bit nervous at first but good footage
2018-4-24
Use props
Flycaster
lvl.4
United States

Water is one of the hardest things to "sense", with what is in the consumer market for drones/UAV, unless you get into the big money.
That's why every once in a while you read about a Mavic doing it best impression of the submarine Seaview.....