New Phantom Owner
1059 25 2018-4-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FlyboyTR
lvl.1

Hello...
Just wanted to introduce myself.  I have been a pilot for 46 years with over 3,700 hours as PIC (pilot in command).  So obviously I enjoy flying.  A couple of years ago I got the itch for a UAS and purchased a cheap drone to test the waters.  It was fun for a few days...but everything was so limited it didn't take long for me to retire it to the closet.  Last week a friend showed me his Phantom 4 and I got a little stick time.  Wow...what a difference!

Last night I ordered a Phantom 3 Advanced from DJI and will be anxiously awaiting its arrival.  We are planning a couple of trips through lower Utah and will be spending a bit of time around Zion, Bryce and the Moab area.  I am hoping that I will be able to capture some great memories with the new Phantom.

I still have a lot to learn and have been doing a lot of reading and video watching (learning to take a lot of that info with a grain of salt...so to speak).  Initially, I am interested in learning all I can about protecting the drone from newbie mistakes.  I completed my FAA registration this morning.  I will look forward to learning from this group and I know that I will have questions.
2018-4-25
Use props
Mark The Droner
First Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

Are you sure you ordered your P3A from DJI?  I thought they had stopped selling that model directly, although I know you can possibly get it from an authorized DJI retailer.

https://www.dji.com/phantom-3-ad ... e&from=landing_page

Welcome to the site!  
2018-4-25
Use props
Eric13
Second Officer
Flight distance : 13982031 ft
  • >>>

Hi Flyboy,
I wish you a lot of good time with your drone!

When I read which places you want to visit:
Note that Zion and Bryce are National Parks where Drones are not allowed. Same applies to Arches National Park near Moab.

Cheers  Eric
2018-4-25
Use props
fans808b1d91
lvl.3
United States