Original Phantom 2 Green Zone Trouble
525 4 2018-5-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans4db89420
lvl.1

United States

I was pulling my hair out trying to figure out what was wrong with my trusty old Phantom 2.  Took off, flew for about 20 seconds, flashed red all of a sudden and almost ended up in the bottom of a shallow creek.  Crashed landed into the bank thankfully with no major injuries to the P2 (thank you soft mud).  I thought my P2 was dying, but it flew fine the next time I tried it.  I've been flying it for 3 years now and had never had this happen.  But I recently upgraded the firmware.  I knew about no fly zones, but I had checked and was only in a green zone, and not high off the ground, so I didn't think that would be an issue.  When I first started it up, It flashed full green for me, I took off to about 15 feet and headed out over the creek and then it flashed red and fought me to the ground.

I'm 8 miles from the airport it's reading (Eugene, OR) which is just barely in an "Enhanced Warning Zone" and it won't fly.

So I started researching how to fly in these green areas (not even talking red or yellow) and the only answer seems to be the app, to which my trusty old P2 doesn't have the capabilities for.  No response to my email after 5 days...

How does one fly the Phantom 2 anymore?

2018-5-2
Use props
Mark The Droner
First Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

I fly P2s all the time.  

I am kind of shocked you recently "upgraded the firmware" because we haven't had an P2 FW update since 2015.  Is it possible you've been flying all this time with FW from 2014 which means you've been flying without NFZ restrictions?  

What FW did you have before?  

What FW do you have now?