Flying from the rim of a canyon
1747 30 2018-5-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RandyK0615
lvl.2
Flight distance : 194354 ft
United States

I live in western Colorado. We have plenty of mountains and canyons. As a newbie I am asking that
if I am taking off with a Mavic Pro from the rim of a canyon looking down into the canyon will this have
any impact on handling the Mavic if I fly down into the canyon? The place I would like to do this has a
near vertical drop of about 500 feet (152 meters). If after I have flown down to near the bottom of
the canyon and press RTH am I correct in assuming the Mavic will rise to the RTH altitude based on the
take off point? I will appreciate any answers and hope to be forgiven if this question has been asked
before. I have not found a similar scenario posted. Thank you again.

2018-5-9
Use props
DJI Susan
Administrator

Hey Randy, it is recommended to fly in open place to ensure the GPS signal as the drone will enter ATTI mode if the GPS is weak. In ATTI mode, the drone cannot hover or brake which requires high flying skills.
Also, the take-off point will be recorded as 0m, please set a proper RTH altitude to avoid the barriers. Do more practice, you will know more about it.
2018-5-13
Use props
RandyK0615
lvl.2
United States

DJI Susan Posted at 2018-5-13 18:48
Hey Randy, it is recommended to fly in open place to ensure the GPS signal as the drone will enter ATTI mode if the GPS is weak. In ATTI mode, the drone cannot hover or brake which requires high flying skills.
Also, the take-off point will be recorded as 0m, please set a proper RTH altitude to avoid the barriers. Do more practice, you will know more about it.

Hi Susan,