Altitude questions...
835 11 2018-5-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Steelospeed
lvl.2

United Kingdom

This might be a stupid question, but feel I need to ask...as I'm still a total novice after only a couple of weeks of Spark ownership.

I'll be taking my Spark with me next month when I go to the Outer Hebrides for a week of landscape photography, and was just wondering that when I'm set up on a cliff top with my camera and have time to fly my Spark, once the Spark leaves land and goes over the sea from the cliff top, if this happens to be higher than max altitude from the sea, will the Spark drop in altitude, therefore not allowing me to bring it back onto the cliff top to land?

I hope I've explained what I mean correctly
2018-5-16
Use props
msinger
Captain
Flight distance : 228255 ft
  • >>>
United States

The altitude only changes when you ascend/descend. So, when flying straight over the edge of the cliff, the altitude will remain the same.
2018-5-16
Use props
Steelospeed
lvl.2

United Kingdom

msinger Posted at 2018-5-16 11:12
The altitude only changes when you ascend/descend. So, when flying straight over the edge of the cliff, the altitude will remain the same.

Thanks msinger!  I had assumed as much, but wanted to check to make sure.  I thought it might have been a stupid question
2018-5-16
Use props
DJI Elektra
DJI team
Hong Kong

Steelospeed Posted at 2018-5-16 11:14
Thanks msinger!  I had assumed as much, but wanted to check to make sure.  I thought it might have been a stupid question

If you fly lower than the take off point, the altitude will be negative number. For example, flying your drone from cliff top to land.
2018-5-16
Use props
Joller79 DK
lvl.4
Flight distance : 26447 ft
Denmark

Takeoff point is 0meters.. You could take of mount everest and desend, and then fo back up if you liked.
2018-5-16
Use props
drewhoover
lvl.4
Flight distance : 323455 ft

Joller79 DK Posted at 2018-5-16 20:23