Newbie - Cannot get Phantom 4 Pro/Controller/Samsung Note 8 to work
1215 8 2018-5-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JoeFriday
lvl.1
United States

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie to drones, so please forgive my utter ignorance.

I purchased a Phantom 4 Pro and am having a terrible time trying to get the aircraft to link with my controller/Samsung Galaxy Note 8 andoid phone and the DJI Go 4 android app on the phone noted.

I think part of my problem is a firmware mismatch.

I have successfully updated the Phantom 4 Pro aircraft to Firmware Version .01.05.0600

The Controller is a lesser version number, I think, and the odd thing is I cannot find the same version number as the Aircraft on the DJI Firmware Upgrade site.

When I do plug in my controller to the computer and launch DJI Assistant 2, it tells me ' Your device is not supported.'   What??!!  My DJI controller is not supported by DJI  ??

I have no idea how to do this.  I tried to do it through the DJI Go 4 android app on my phone, and although it says I need a firmware upgrade, I click on that notification in the Go Fly app and it takes me to a 'black screen' and does nothing.  Most screwed up app ever.

I *think* I have successfully, at least partially, got the aircraft and controller to 'link'.... and the DJI Go 4 app says that it is 'connected' when both devices are on, yet, I have no picture on the phone, except massive chunky pixelation.

I hit the 'auto launch' icon followed by sliding the 'fly' slider on the DJI Go 4 app and the unit actually does rise in the air about 4 feet, and I can fly it around, but I get massive alerts saying 'no signal'... 'lo battery' (which neither device is low on juice) and a constand beeping noise....

The tiny connection light on the aircraft is 'red' and the connection light on the controller does an alternating 'fast flicker' of green/red/green/red.....

I thought they were both supposed to be 'blue' when successfully linked????