1954 42 2018-6-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ChrisJG
First Officer
Flight distance : 1725341 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

So, between now and around the end of July, there's an opportunity if you are up late or early enough to see these very high altitude "Night Shining" Clouds.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noctilucent_cloud

They are a bit of a mystery in we still are not exactly sure what causes them, it could be linked to global warming, it could be linked to the larger number of asteroids  / meteorites buring up in our upper atmosphere...no one is yet certain, apart from the fact that we are seeing them ore often each year...

I'm an amateur astronomer and have seen these a few times, but last year and the year before, before I purchased my Spark. Easy enough to photograph if you are fortunate enough to be in the right place and time with a dslr and a tripod. Could they be photographed with a Spark? I note that the ISO can be cranked up, it's not astronomically dark in the Summer months and these are fairly bright...but the Spark has a small'ish sensor compared to a camera, so could it be done?

I'd love to have an attempt, but all of the night time photography I've seen has been of fairly bright street scenes.
Thanks,

Chris
2018-6-7
Use props
DMX_MT
First Officer
Malta

Hi Chris, what setting do you use in Manual DSLR ? Long shutter + Tripod or you crank up ISO with Fast Shutter hand held ? To see if Spark can handle it.

I am into Night Photography too. Never did Astro, but will be thinking in getting a Wide Angle like 14mm f1.8 but they are reallly expensive.

2018-6-7
Use props
Northwood
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2148596 ft
Canada

Fascinating, going to watch for these on weekends when I am at my northern home.
2018-6-7
Use props
ChrisJG
First Officer
  • >>>
United Kingdom

DMX_MT Posted at 2018-6-7 17:38