Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
OK, I'm an FAA licensed pilot
3595 16 2015-5-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Muleshoe2
lvl.1

United States

I got my license years ago but flew less than 200 hours. I have not flown in many years and my medical is out of date.

If I go get a medical, my understanding is my license is still good, I would just have to go for a check ride in a plane I am certified in before I could rent one for solo flight. Single engine, fixed-wing, land (as opposed to water skis), and less than 300 horsepower. I don't think I would have to take a check ride in an aircraft. All I have to have is a current medical and my original license to be "current."

If all that's true, now I can apply to the FAA and legally fly a drone for commercial reasons, i.e. professional photography, right? Is there any kind of "check ride" with an FAA examiner for this drone "certification?"

I had not heard the FAA is requiring permission for commercial work before I bought the P3 and joined this forum. It's my first foray into the hobby. I just intended to do photos for pleasure but perhaps I'm in a good position to do more?

2015-5-14
Use props
Two Snakes
lvl.3
Flight distance : 241457 ft
United States

Check your state laws too.  Some have passed their own bills. NC has similar commercial requirements.
2015-5-14
Use props
mike
Captain
Flight distance : 228255 ft
  • >>>
United States

Muleshoe2, in the US, everyone must follow the same set of rules established by the FAA. There are no special state rules that overrule the FAA's rules. That said, you should check out the following link for more information on submitting a petition for exemption:

http://www.faa.gov/uas/legislati ... _to_file_a_petition

There is no "check ride" -- nor do you need a 3rd class medical certificate. You just need an exemption and a valid airman certificate (at least a recreational or sport pilot certificate).