Preloading maps before going to fly: possible?
2323 18 2018-6-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ultrazone
lvl.3
Flight distance : 983537 ft
Spain

Hi all!

I own a Phantom 4 Pro since April, and I am still learning the basics with the app DJI Go 4.

Being an old Parrot user, I remember it was possible with their app to preload the maps of the area you were going to fly over before actually being there. This feature was very helpful for me, since my iPad doesn't have cellular and sharing my mobile phone's connection before flying is problematic most of the times because there is no good coverage and it would take ages to preload maps.

With my old BeBop 2 and its app, FreeFlight Pro, I used to preload the map of the area I was going to fly, so it was loaded in the app once I was there.

What's most, having to preload maps on location just before flying seems to me like another thing to prepare, and I would like to preload maps at home if possible.

So... is there a way to preload a certain area into DJI Go 4 for a later flight? Hope to have explained my problem and formulated my question correctly and in an understandable way.

Thanks in advance!

2018-6-12
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator

Are you referring to an offline map? If yes, you may see the details below.

For DJI GO for Android v 3.1.0 and later and DJI GO 4 for Android v4.0 and later, if you are using the app in Mainland China, the app uses Amap. If you are using the app outside of Mainland China, the app uses Mapbox.

For DJI GO for iOS and DJI GO 4 for iOS, if you are using the app in Mainland China, the app uses Amap. If you are using the app outside Mainland China, the app uses the map coming with the mobile device.
2018-6-12
Use props
ultrazone
lvl.3
Spain

DJI Natalia Posted at 2018-6-12 09:30
Are you referring to an offline map? If yes, you may see the details below.