Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Flying over nearby buildings in UK
1442 2 2018-6-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Steve M B
New

United Kingdom

Hi Guys,

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong place.
I currently work as an insurance claims validator which involves quite a lot of domestic roof inspections. I am usually able to do these with a camera pole but occasionally I can't get access with a pole.

I am considering getting the relavant CAA permissions etc to use a drone for these surveys. I would hopefully be able to utilise the drone in other ways to recoop some of the costs.

I've been doing quite a lot of research and there is one thing that isn't quite clear in my mind.

What qualifies a building to be within my control if it is within 50 mtrs of a property I am surveying. Is it sufficient to knock on the doors and advise what I am proposing to do and ask if they have any objections or is there more involved?

A lot of houses I visit are either terraced or semi detached properties so the 50mtr zone could include 20 or 30 houses!

Thanks in advance, Steve

2018-6-12
Use props
Ridg
First Officer
Flight distance : 232306 ft
United Kingdom

https://www.caa.co.uk/Commercial-industry/Aircraft/Unmanned-aircraft/Small-drones/Permissions-and-exemptions-for-commercial-work-involving-small-drones/
"A permission from the CAA is required to be held if you wish to conduct a commercial operation with your aircraft (iaw ANO 2016 article 94[5]), or if you wish to fly your aircraft:
  • within 150m of either a congested area or an organised open air crowd or more than 1000 persons (iaw ANO2016 article 95),
    and/or
  • within 50m of people or properties/objects that are not under your control (iaw ANO2016 article 95)"