DJI Drone as an Ordinary Camera (connected to Video Switcher)
3122 13 2018-6-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Edbertjunior
lvl.1

Indonesia

Dear All
I plan to buy a DJI Phantom 4 + HDMI Module accessory.

If it is not flying, I plan to use my drone as an ordinary camera connected to the video switcher (e.g. Roland V1HD) via HDMI.

After doing research and contacted DJI team, I am assured that HDMI output is possible.

Before I buy, I have some more questions to confirm:

• Is it possible to have DJI Phantom turned on for like 2-3 hours (it's the duration of my weekly event)? That means the charger must be connected during the event.
  • Is it possible to turn on only the camera without turning on the propeller?

Sorry if this question looks silly to you I am really new to drone and cannot wait to have one.

If you have any other recommendation, feel free to share. Thank you your answers.

2018-6-12
Use props
Edbertjunior
lvl.1

Indonesia

If you have some experience using DJI drones as a normal camera, please kindly share
2018-6-12
Use props
Nigel_
Second Officer
Flight distance : 388642 ft
United Kingdom

1. You need to remove the battery to charge it, thus you can't charge while on.  The batteries contain a lot of power though so will last a fair time if not flying. Not sure about the 3 hours but I would be surprised if it didn't.

2. Yes you can just power on the aircraft without starting the motors.

Note that when recording it has a maximum file size, nearly 10 minutes, when the file becomes too big it starts another and looses about 1 second in the process.  I guess that is not a problem if you are recording the HDMI.   I've never used HDMI except the HDMI output from my tablet.

If you want to use the gimbal, only the pitch control will work when on the ground.

All other camera functions work normally.

2018-6-12
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Yes you should be able to do that.