Flight time at 3500m altitude
2316 27 2018-6-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jimnybob
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Hi all,

Drone noob here. Just bought my first mavic pro for a trip. I know it's rated for 27 min flight time, just wondered if anyone had experience of flying at higher altitudes around 3000-3500m. How was the flight time affected if at all?

Thanks!
2018-6-19
Use props
R&L Aerial photography
First Officer
Flight distance : 298100 ft
  • >>>
United States

At that altitude you are looking at around 5 minutes less than at sea level, the air is of course thinner at that altitude so the motors spin a little faster to compensate....
2018-6-19
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13864580 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

MP can fly up to 6,000m ASL but yeah, thinner air means greater RPM on the motor output and you'll see a much shorter flight time. The flight time at normal altitudes is around 21-23 minutes depending on wind speeds and flight modes so at that altitude you'll be looking at around 15-18 minutes.
Drone police: before getting twitchy - this is about the highest take off altitudes above sea level - not flying 2 miles above the ground...
2018-6-19
Use props
QuadKid
First Officer
Flight distance : 482349 ft
United States

Don't do it, you will be in Class A airspace, remember if for some reason the AC failed and came crashing down to earth the authorities could learn all about you and your flight with the onboard black box data.
2018-6-19
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team