Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Why is a compass calibration needed?
1812 29 2018-6-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Rblomqvist
Captain
Flight distance : 1026260 ft
United States

So probably a very basic question, but I'm new to drones and still lots to learn

From time to time I'm asked to do a compass calibration on my MA. My question is why this is required if my location has not changed?  

I totally get a compass calibration is needed if you move location as the strength and direction of magnetic fields changes etc. But shouldn't that value be stored in MA and be referenced to when it starts? And unless the GPS show you have moved x distance it will go back to the stored value even if there are interference? In other words, what is causing the built in compass to require a calibration? I get that you should have no interference as you are performing the calibration but why is it required after all when it had a good compass reading already stored?

Same is true with the IMU?

2018-6-28
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9812789 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

It’s the six million dollar question, but the setting asking for compass to be calibrated seems to be set very sensitive. You really should never need to calibrate compass, and yes MavAir is the first dji consumer drone with a look up table , to alert you if your in an area of magnetic declination.

Calibration gives the compass the information it needs to determine which magnetic influences are part of the Mavic and what is the earth's normal magnetic field.
The compass doesn't lose calibration and doesn't ever need re-calibration unless you add or remove equipment to/from the Mavic, or move to an area with changing declination.

So this is the only answer I can give you now, hopefully dji will see some sense and lighten up a bit on this, many are having to calibrate every time they fly.
2018-6-28
Use props
3-D
Captain