Repeated loss of image transmission
4009 19 2018-8-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Geologian
lvl.1
United States

Hello,
I am a novice pilot, having flown my Phantom 4 Pro about 6 times for geological research (collection of aerial photos over active faults), in addition to some test flights at or near my home.  In March 2018 I was flying a research mission and after 10-15 minutes and capturing 30-40 photos I lost image transmission signal as well as control of the camera.  The shutter button would not click and I could not change the camera angle.  I landed the drone and changed the battery and was able to restore image transmission while on the ground, but lost it again after less than a minute of flight.  It was a windy day, with steady wind of (I'm guessing) maybe 15-20 mph.  It was enough to give me a wind warning on the screen.  I was surprised that the drone handled as well as it did in the wind, but I wondered if the wind might be responsible for the loss of image transmission.

I tested the drone at home  on two different days a week or two later.  It was breezy, but not enough to give a wind warning on the screen.  On the first day the camera worked for about 10 minutes before I lost image transmission.  On the second day I temporarily lost camera connection several times, but it always re-established itself within 10-30 seconds, while still in flight.  

Later in April I took it out for another research mission and the camera worked fine for the first two flights of 20-25 minutes each, but on my attempt at a third flight I was not able to obtain image transmission at all, and I had to cancel the remainder of the mission.
Does anyone have any thoughts on what is causing this problem and how to fix it?  Should I send the drone in for evaluation and repair?
Thanks!
Sally (Geologian)

2018-8-5
Use props
ALABAMA
First Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States