Return to Home (all DJI drones) - am I the only one?
12Next >
2516 48 2018-9-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NomadRT
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1669012 ft
United States

Let me start this by saying I'm completely capable of flying my drone back manually when needed.    It's not a question of skill.   I'm also a pretty seasoned drone pilot at this point -- with the Mavic 2 about to be my third DJI product.

That being said --   I'm just going to go out there and say it despite the coming lectures on how you shouldn't rely on RTH.    ***I enjoy RTH and I use it quite frequently***.     I don't know what it is, but I enjoy having the drone come back to me without touching the sticks.    I like the furturistic and technologically advanced feeling it gives me.   I'm always ready to take over if needed, but I really enjoy using this feature.   

I felt compelled to post this because every time I see someone post anything about RTH I see about 10 responses that 'you shouldn't rely on RTH, etc etc etc like it's some sort of stigma.      Well I'm coming out of the closet here to you people and saying -- I don't rely on it, i just like the heck out of it and I do it all the time.

Thanks!  Carry on my wayward sons.  
2018-9-3
Use props
Joshua Carlton
lvl.4
Flight distance : 24094 ft
  • >>>

I think for me the constant beeping is overly annoying.
2018-9-3
Use props
gnirtS
Second Officer
Flight distance : 5712575 ft
United Kingdom

Yeah i use it quite a lot.
Theres no "skill" in manually operating a mavic.  You line up an arrow and hold a joystick forward until you hear a buzzing noise overhead.  Its not the most complex motor skill you'll do all day.
I do laugh at people on about "manual piloting. i dont trust no computer" making it sound like they're flying a manual precision approach in concorde with no assistance.