Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
M2P 4k C-130 Take-Off, Crash, and Recovery!
1091 14 2018-9-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Zatx
lvl.4
Flight distance : 158166 ft
United States

Clickbait title is Clickbait (but accurate)!
I was filming C-130's performing touch-n-go's and take off and landings today. I got this incredible manual tracking shot along with a heck of a crash and just had to share it.

Disclaimers:

This is my first time editing a video.
First time trying a shot like this.
Fourth time flying a drone.
I was 1.5 miles from the airport.
I notified the tower traffic controller before taking off and he was visually watching my drone during this shot.
The C-130 pilot knew my precise location (which is one reason he turned towards me).

Filmed in Dlog H.265 manual (f5.6). Slightly adjusted saturation, warmth, and shadows. No sharpening or noise reduction then exported into the Premiere Pro Youtube 4k (H.264) preset. No ND filters yet so just stock UV filter in place.

Despite the collision, the Mavic 2 Pro returned home completely undamaged.

2018-9-15
Use props
Wachtberger
First Officer
Flight distance : 261509 ft

Nice video, thank you! Next time watch out for obstacles located sidewards ;-)
2018-9-15
Use props
Zatx
lvl.4
United States

Wachtberger Posted at 2018-9-15 11:15
Nice video, thank you! Next time watch out for obstacles located sidewards ;-)

Yeah... I was 100ft up and thought I was above the highest trees.
2018-9-15
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator

Great video! Thanks for sharing. Please fly with caution to avoid any damage. Have a safe flight
2018-9-15
Use props
Fraggboy
lvl.4
Flight distance : 81401 ft
United States

You got lucky!!  Great video. Flying sideways is risky, even with the new cameras.
2018-9-15
Use props
Thriller
Second Officer
Flight distance : 374337 ft
Italy

You were very lucky
2018-9-15
Use props
rwynant V1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 4842277 ft
  • >>>