Mavic Air permanently disconnects until controller restarted
1258 14 2018-9-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
AndrewUK
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1403068 ft
United Kingdom

Hello DJI, this evening for the third time I lost control of my drone mid flight when it was only about 150m from myself, over water.  Auto RTH initiated and it began making its way home until I restarted the controller to resume connection.  As an experienced software engineer I am telling you that Wi-Fi disconnecting and not reconnecting until the controller is restarted is a dangerous bug.  What happens if the connection decides to drop when the Air is moving at 19m/s?!

My first detailed and unacknowledged report is here:
https://forum.dji.com/thread-152560-1-1.html

Others report the same issue here:
https://forum.dji.com/thread-144319-1-1.html
https://forum.dji.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=166033
https://forum.dji.com/forum.php? ... =166033&pid=1563649

When is DJI going to support the growing number of Mavic Air customers experiencing DANGEROUS and crippling issues with 0400 firmware?  The lack of support and communication is disappointing and puts me off buying DJI again.  Your reputation is at stake if you continue to chase new product development and forget about your existing customers with genuine issues.

Andrew

2018-9-17
Use props
LookAt_Wictim
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2621982 ft
Slovakia

Same problem as you and more frequent disconnecting (the "bug" is getting worse over time). After refresh fw first week was ok and then again same problem...
2018-9-17
Use props
Alex B.
Second Officer
Flight distance : 21105262 ft

Spain

Have you tried downgrading the app to 4.2.12 to see if that helps?

Fly safe
Alex
2018-9-17
Use props
Christine96
lvl.4
United States

I don't really fly my MA anymore after buying the P4P.  To me it's more of a collectors item now.  I might buy another just for flying though because they are fun to fly.
2018-9-17
Use props
DJI Tony
Administrator