Mavic Air Lost due to Weak GPS & Poor DJI Support
2972 12 2018-10-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Goodmorning
lvl.1
Flight distance : 130217 ft
Peru

I am an outdoor and landscape photographer, often bringing my drone during my multi day treks.

In my trek last week in Peru, I was flying my Mavic Air in an open-air unobstructed condition when my Mavic Air became uncontrollable in Atti mode on recovery. As i was previously in sports mode, it went dashing past me towards the other side of the mountain. I attempted to brake but to no success and visual with the drone has lost as it blended in with the mountain. Looking at the screen, i steered the drone away from the mountain face but at 10%, RTH was initiated. The drone has landed somewhere foreign and was out of sight. An attempt was made to retrieve the drone but it was too difficult without falling off the mountain cliff edge.

Having explained the condition to DJI support, i was told "According to the analysis, the incident happened due to piloting the aircraft under improper flight environment where there was no enough GPS signal. Please fly with caution."

1) I took off with 11 GPS Sats and reached a point with 13. Upon recovery it dropped to 7 and went to atti mode.
- How could i have prevented this?
-Is there a GPS recceiver issue with the Drone?
-There was constant line of sight to the open skies and i couldnt have found a better open space to fly it.

2) Faith in DJI support
-If i am to buy a $1000 equipment and it is just to crash/down because of an error that is uncontrollable by the operator(for example GPS receive or signal), how am i max perform or even trust DJI for usage.
-Not to mention, my SD card worth of days trek stored in the down Mavic Air.

Looking forwarding to a reply DJI

G

Case CAS-2390408-Q4F5P0

A snap of the environment has been attaached.

2018-10-22
Use props
HedsIc
lvl.4
Flight distance : 478757 ft