Ronin-S stops pointing forward while I'm walking and pans left or...
15001 22 2018-10-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
secondEdition
lvl.1
United States

I've started using a DJI Ronin-S to improve the quality of my video. I'm a novice with gimbals – the Ronin always starts panning as I'm walking. I would prefer my camera to keep pointing forward but it will start panning either left or right. This happens even when holding the trigger button. To compensate, I have to hold the d-pad left or right, to prevent the device from panning. Is this behavior par the course? If not, might my device be defective? If it is the expected behavior, how does one manage to keep the camera locked pointing forward? For the record, the systems test shows each access as balanced "excellent" and I always run the "auto tune" function.
2018-10-27
Use props
secondEdition
lvl.1
United States

Further developments: I downgraded from newest firmware to oldest firmware. Now the pan axis stays still as I walk. If I hold the trigger the pan does NOT stay locked. The trigger is supposed to lock both the pan AND tilt correct?

It's hard for me to believe that the latest firmware doesn't work right. Is my device a lemon or is this a software problem? Please let me know or else I will be forced to return this product.
2018-10-28
Use props
DJI Mindy
Administrator
Flight distance : 7 ft
  • >>>

Hi secondEdition, we are very sorry to read on your unpleasant experience with Ronin-S, it should not be firmware related, please follow the steps below to make a troubleshooting.
1. Will the camera stays still when rotating the Pan axis 45° while lifting the grip? Please make sure the knob has been tightened.
2. Did you mount the camera mounting plate and the lens support?
3. If the Pan axis has been physically balanced, please tilt the device 45°, then check if the Power value of the Pan motor is in the range of +/-5. If not, the device will need to be balanced again.